Go-Ride Games 2012

Kings Cliffe Flyers took advantage of British Cycling‘s Go-Ride Games initative to welcome more new riders to their sessions on Thursday evenings. Specially designed commemorative Go-Ride Games t-shirts coloured like the Olympic rings, water bottles, certificates & of course the gold, silver & bronze medals were all up for grabs this week as well as the all important points towards the overall club Go-Ride Racing series.

 Eight races were staged on the grass track ‘velodrome’  this week with prizes available in all but the handicapped races. First up were the somewhat depleted number of older boys along with leading girl, Holly Farrow (Kings Cliffe Flyers). Fewer riders didn’t mean that this wasn’t strongly contested though with tatcical riding coming into play in most events. Back from holiday a tanned Thomas Spain (Kings Cliffe Flyers) took the win in the opening 4lap scratch event from Ieuan Williams (Fenland Clarion).

All of the evenings drama though came from the younger age group, Newcomer Sam Hughes (8yrs)  quickly became a marked man as he comfortably won the 3 lap scratch. Another win in the Keirin and Elimination sealed his bid for the win overall on the night. A desperate tussle in the final metres of the first event between Flyer team mates, Harry Tilley & James Farrow, resulted in a winded pile up, bruised knees & last place for both as the rest of the riders cruised home.  Courageously & with composure regained they shook hands & crossed the line to finish the race.

 The prize presentation had riders posing like true Olympic champions, biting at their medals & raising their arms skywards for the waiting media (their parents) trying to capture the momentous occasion. More pictures in ‘PHOTOS’ above.

Overall standings:

Isaac Ellard 23
Harry Tilley 18
Ieuan Williams 17
Billy Slater 16
Edward Lowe 15
Thomas Spain 11
Jerry Norman 10
Sam Hughes 10
Louis  Brown 7
Holly Farrow 6
Thomas Stegman 5
William Brown 5
Meg Snow 4
James Farrow 4
Adam Lea 3
Alfie Burrows 3
Jack Shuttleworth 3
Tommy Snow 3
Aaron Wills 3
Ewan Buckby 2
Oliver Fraser 2
Harry Baker 1
Jake Lawless 1
Jonah Armitage 1
Matthew Fraser 1
Callum Morris 1
Jensen Barraclough 1